HITO Awards celebrate excellence in hair and beauty!

Nadine Gratton from Ursula Harris Hair Design in Nelson was thrilled to be named 2014 HITO Apprentice of the Year at the Industry Awards held on the 9th November. Competition was tight for this highly coveted award which recognises the year’s most outstanding HITO apprentice. The judges selected Nadine as the overall winner because she displays motivation, commitment, and a willingness to go above and beyond to be the best. She was chosen out of over 60 entrants from across New Zealand.

"This win tops off my year,” says Nadine. "This has been a massive goal of mine that I’ve finally achieved. I was absolutely speechless when I found out I’d won.”

Each year the NZ Hair and Beauty Industry Training Organisation Inc. (HITO) collaborates with Kitomba and the New Zealand Association of Registered Hairdressers (NZARH) to host the Industry Awards. The awards celebrate excellence in training, creativity and business in the New Zealand hair and beauty industries.

HITO CEO Erica Cumming says she enjoyed seeing such a large number of people come out to celebrate the best in the business. "It was wonderful to see the support and enthusiasm for the awards and award winners this year. Congratulations to all of our finalists and winners - you have worked hard to rise to the top. I’m looking forward to seeing your careers grow even further in 2015.”

HITO Award winners:

HITO Apprentice of the Year

Winner: Nadine Gratton, Ursula Harris Hair Design, Nelson

Runner-up: Courtney Jackson, Be Ba Bo Hair Studio, New Plymouth

HITO Regional Apprentice of the Year

Northern Region: Kevin Price, Rodney Wayne Glenfield Mall, Auckland

Auckland Region: Trent Fleet, Bettjemans, Auckland

Midland Region: Jenny Eastwood, Morph Hair Studio, Hamilton

Mid-Central Region: Courtney Jackson, Be Ba Bo Hair Studio, New Plymouth

Central Region: Sarah Smith, Synergy Hairdressing, Lower Hutt

Northern-South Region: Nadine Gratton, Ursula Harris Hair Design, Nelson

Southern-South Region: Rachel Patarana, Fred and Gingers, Invercargill

Jasmine McBeth Memorial Scholarship

Recipient: Jacqui Malcolm, Be Ba Bo Hair Studio, New Plymouth

HITO Tutor of the Year

Winners: Fiona Smith and Kirsty Ryan, both from WITT, New Plymouth

HITO Trainer of the Year

Winner: Dionne Hardwick, Salon One Hair and Beauty, Tauranga

HITO Training Salon of the Year

Winner: True Grit Hair Spa, Christchurch