NZARH announce the 2015 Editorial Stylist Awards finalists!

After six hours of deliberation, the judges for the 2015 NZARH Editorial Stylist Awards have selected the finalists from 478 images entered. Lyndsay Loveridge, Christina Sayers-Wickstead and Grayson Coutts all agreed that they were ‘Very impressed with the vast range of creative talent and ability demonstrated’.

Four finalists from each of the 14 NZARH Regions represented in this year’s Editorial Stylist competition have been selected, which is sponsored by L’Oréal Professionnel. The high standard of work continues across the Matrix sponsored Novice, Next Generation (sponsored by Redken), Le Male (sponsored by Fudge) and Colour (sponsored by Redken) sections.

Winners will be announced on Sunday 4th October at the 2015 NZARH Supreme Awards to be held at the Pullman Hotel, Auckland. The 14 regional winners will compete for the title of ‘Editorial Stylist of the Year’, which will also be announced at the Supreme Awards.

Editorial Stylist challenges stylists from NZARH member salons to create an image suitable for the front cover of a magazine that will forecast hair fashion for the coming season. Entries are judged on the three elements that combine to a successful photographic image; hair that shows the technical skill of the stylist in the shape, colour and finish which makes the hair the focus of the image; makeup, clothing and accessories combining to emphasise the hair style, and the photograph which highlights the hair through the choice of lighting, background and framing.

Chairperson of the Competitions Committee and convenor of judging, David Shields, said "I believe that the work submitted by stylists this year shows incredible growth in the skills and creativity of New Zealand hairdressing, they have put their time and energy into creating not only beautiful hair, but telling a story in a single image”.

"Putting together a photo shoot is never simple and overall I was very happy with the results that came through, and the stylists should be very proud of the work they have produced”. Said Grayson Coutts.

Industry icon Lyndsay Loveridge said "The whole day was stamped with the professionalism that David Shields and Jan Waite bring to the NZARH and the Competitions Committee. The judging was very well organised and the careful thought with choosing a complimentary panel, I believe, ensured that all the facets of editorial work were represented fairly, enabling the panel to enjoy a healthy repartee”.

The Judges:

Lyndsay Loveridge:

"Once a hairdresser always a hairdresser”, says Lyndsay. Having spent 40 years plus in the business of hairdressing Lyndsay’s focus is now acting as a hairdressing skills trainer, an assessor, a business mentor and a business consultant. Lyndsay is a regular columnist for HITO Forma, a public speaker, a Celebrant - marriage, funeral and more. With a strong sense of family and values, Lyndsay also has active friendships with many of her hairdressing family. The depth of her hairdressing background remains fresh and forward thinking. Here is a woman who never stands still!

Christina Sayers-Wickstead:

Christina is the General Manager of Localist - New Zealand’s largest digital recommendations site featuring cafes, hairdressers, op shops and everything in between. Her 25 year media career includes having been an award-winning editor of Fashion Quarterly and Next magazines, an advisor to New Zealand Fashion Week and a media consultant to Louis Vuitton.

Grayson Coutts:

Grayson is a professional freelance makeup artist with nearly 10 years industry experience. Having just wrapped his eighth consecutive year at NZ Fashion Week, he has worked with New Zealand’s biggest names, including Colin Mathura-Jeffree, Kimbra, and Kimberly Crossman; and was the personal makeup artist for Carly Rae Jepsen and Fall Out Boy when they visited New Zealand. He runs a private studio in Herne Bay and also works on location. With a background in fashion and beauty PR, he has a sound knowledge of the beauty industry within New Zealand.

In no particular order the 4 finalists for each region are:

Southland: Caren Mackay - Do Hair (2 entries), Kerry Penisula-Spain - Halcyon, Mikaela Edwards - Runway.

South Canterbury: Debbie Tiddy - Fusion Hair, Makaela Tiddy - Fusion Hair, (2 entries), Megan Leith - Fusion Hair

Otago: Jaimee Smith - Zaibatsu Hair Art  (4 entries).

Nelson Marlborough: Burnetta Haswell - Beyond the Fringe, Donna James - Donna James Hair (3 entries).

Canterbury Westland: Alana Fiebig - Soho Hair & Beauty, Warren Dion-Smith - Sutherland Todd Hairdressing (3 entries).

Wellington: Cheryl Fafeita - Mane Salon, Joel Hornell - Badaro, Kiri Roberts - Mane Salon (2 entries).

Whanganui: Carol Hayward - Chonel Hairdressing, Robyn Collins - Protégé Hairdressing (2 entries), Tiffiny Spencer - Protégé Hairdressing.

Waikato: David Rogers - Morph Hair, Denise Taylor - Ktizo Hair & Spa, Heidi Christian - Varda, Jaime Barakat - Ktizo Hair & Spa.

Taranaki: Hine Te Awhe - BeBaBo Hair Studio, Jacqui Malcom - BeBaBo Hair Studio (2 entries), Nicole Christophers - Vie Hairdressing.

Northland: Hazel Newman -Three Hairdressing (3 entries), Laurel Stratford - Northland Hair Company

Manawatu: Karina Gollins - Karina Grace Hairdressing (2 entries), Terry Johns - Hairworks, Carmen Rutland - The Hairdressing College.

Hawkes Bay: Melanie Redington - Pure Hair, Teagan Steed - Pure Hair, Kelly McKenzie - Pure Hair, Natasha Bird - M>phosis Hair Stylists.

Bay of Plenty: Cecelia Baker - Chocolate Blonde Hair, Patreece Corban - Crèmebrulee Hair & Beauty (2 entries), Richard Hurliman - Envy Salon

Auckland: Bethany Paige Woods Individual Member - Vada (3 entries), Gene Edwards - Oscar & Co.

Colour: Bethany Paige Woods - Individual Member - Vada, Gene Edwards - Oscar & Co, Jaimee Smith -Zaibatsu Hair Art, Karina Gollins - Karina Grace Hairdressing.

Le Male: Bethany Paige Woods - Individual Member - Vada, Cecelia Baker - Chocolate Blonde Hair, Heidi Christian -Varda, Patreece Corban - Crèmebrulee Hair & Beauty

Novice: Abbey-Rose Hudson - Weltec, Aku Morrow - UCOL Hairdressing, Carmen Rutland - The Hairdressing College, Emma Maharaj - The Hairdressing College

Next Generation: Alex Smith - Soho Hair & Beauty, Irihia Bourke - Morph Hair, Mikayla Pupich - Soho Hair & Beauty, Shayana Manson - Tangles Hair Design.